Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Rumours Rumours - Summer 2021 edition (Deadline Day from p814)

Comments

• Swisdom said:
    So do we have any idea who Steve Gallen was scouting last night?  He was definitely off watching someone.  If, as rumours suggested, he was at Crewe then it was a wasted journey watching Dale as he was "sick" apparently
    No one seems to have considered we play Crewe in 2 games time so he might not have been scouting for potential signings. Could have pre-game prep for future opponent 
    AFKA, pissing on the fireworks again.🤨
  • Maccn05 said:
    On the critiquing of George Dobson. I have a perspective on this as I played in the CDM position for 10 years+ and mostly at a semi-pro level so I'd like to think I have some knowledge of the role. So I've watched Dobson closely so far for that reason, I'm always drawn the the CDM's.

Off the ball - IMO my role was to spot danger, anticipate gaps and cover for out of place defenders, for example dropping in for an attacking right back
    On the ball - very simply my role was to press, win it and give to the better players

IMO opinion he's done this very well so far. I thought he was very good pressing and won some good tackles against Sheff W and Oxford (it was v. harsh to be subbed for Watson) last night he wasn't as good and for me it's his worse game as he didn't sniff out the danger and fill the gaps i.e. the first goal.

BUT the bigger issue for him is the players in front of him are poor and making him look worse, Albie & Clare either don't show for the ball or immediately lose it. As has been said he's the water carrier giving it to the ball players so I think we are being overly harsh if we expect lung busting runs and 40 yard passes to feet, that's not his job it's AM & SC. If he could do that he would be in the Prem. - like Watson used to be when he had legs.