Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Joe Gomez rumours (ed. Signed for Liverpool)

Comments

• Options
    He was under contract and left. Compared to Poyet who fulfilled his contract and gets slated on here.
  • Options
    I doubt that was his intention when signing his first pro contract ' will sign this so charlton get a fee when I move on' more along lines of ' yes I am now a professional footballer'

Am playing devils advocate really to how Poyet got treated. No one is slagging the club off for releasing Church at end of his contract and it should be same when works the other way.
  • Options
    So Poyet should have accepted the deal and potentially one that could have affected his move to wherever
  • Options
    Personally I don't blame Gomez for anything. I think he's behaved both rationally and honourably, and hope he fulfills his rich promise.
    Rather, I hope that RD feels that we have been done a bit, and that we should learn lessons for future young stars. I don't expect RD to be swayed by the emotional arguments that we fans ought to see such a player for at least a season. However his goals and ours would coincide if he reflects that another season in our colors would probably have doubled the fee he could get when inevitably he was sold ( and he might have helped propel us into the FAPL, a la Zaha and Palace)
    But then how to stop them leaving prematurely? It needs a rethink of our contracts for top young players. And a strategy for dealing with predatory and unscrupulous agents, as I remain convinced of the substance of the background stories of the role of Gomez agent.
  • Options
    ^ lol. Shows what I know!

Still don't have a problem with either, both signed contracts which allowed CAFC to make money/play them. Better than many others... JLoyd Samuel, Defoe, Palmer, Huddart to name just 4.
  • Sponsored links:

• Options