Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

The Takeover Thread - Duchatelet Finally Sells (Jan 2020)

Comments

• I vaguely remember the term "haircut" from when I used to have to sit basic financial exams 25 years ago when I worked in IT in the city. Its use in this thread did not make sense to me so I checked on Google. Unless the directors are planning to use these loans as collateral then the use of the term in this thread is completely wrong. 
    In finance, a haircut is the difference between the market value of an asset used as loan ... creditors, or, in other words, a reduction in the face value of a troubled borrower's debts, as in "to take a haircut": to accept or receive less than is owed.
    No. It is the difference between the market value of an asset and the value ascribed to that asset when it is being used as collateral.
  • @JamesSeed thanks for the info given so far. However I have a question, if RD isn't paying off the loans and the Aussies arn't, we surely have an impasse and any deal will be off? Unless I'm missing something!
    I didn’t say the Aussies aren’t   
  • We'll probably find a crotchless gorilla suit that he's been using on Thomas!
  • so the previous directors made a bet (ie CAFC back in the prem)

the chances of that actually happening are relatively slim

they are now waiting on the best 'cash out' offer.....and realistically alot depends on how good that offer is.

like anyone of us who's made an on-line bet and keeps an eye on the cash out price.
  • JamesSeed said:
    @JamesSeed thanks for the info given so far. However I have a question, if RD isn't paying off the loans and the Aussies arn't, we surely have an impasse and any deal will be off? Unless I'm missing something!

So are the Aussies in contact with the former directors to do a deal?
  • cafcwill said:
    Apoligies if this has been asked and answered before, but just for clairification