Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Valley Gold - How do I leave it?

Comments

• Options
    LenGlover said:

To be serious I understand where @rikofold is coming from as a general principle re legal obligations and constitution of the fund for the 'benefit' of the Club.

The question I would ask is how does one legally define the 'benefit' of the Club?

From a fan's viewpoint it is reasonable to want to watch every Jordan, Ade or Esri for a season or two and hope that the Club 'benefits' by gaining promotion to a higher level (s) of football.

From a regime point of view selling Gomez for £3.5m keeps Katrien and Sue in vol au vents and brings in funds thus, from their perspective, giving 'benefit' to the Club by partially mitigating losses.

I tentatively suggest, I say tentatively because I am not a lawyer and I genuinely can see the legal dilemma faced by @rikofold and Paul Nottage, that given the grey area of just what is 'benefit,' as briefly described above, they could have dug their heels in more re handing over the dosh.

I have no idea who this Matt Baker bloke is with the casting vote but perhaps it might not be a bad idea for him as the supposed 'independent' to try and get some sort of legal opinion as to what 'benefit' is in this context.

If already done my apologies but I've not read that explicitly anywhere.

To answer your specific point, Matt did get legal advice in the summer and that's guided our subsequent actions.

The legal question isn't benefit actually, but the basis of the scheme is that the academy (not the club) is the primary object and whilst that continues to be the academy that's where our financial support goes.

One question we raised was whether Katrien's comments indicated a different definition of academy, but the reality is that her comments addressed what happens after the academy has developed players, and that's not within our scope.
  • Options
    C4FC4L1f3 said: