Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

photography thread

edited June 2011 in Not Sports Related
Hi, 

just wondered if we had any expertise on here - we seem to have everything else?

Am looking at upgrading my Nikon D70 at work for a D7000, already have an 18-200 vr1 lens, may be able to push them to a new lens possibly a wide angle which we often could use.

The work is mainly for events which are often poorly lit for photography (cheapskates that we are)

Was hoping to improve my non-flash indoor shots, and have a new toy of course.

I know there are advantages with better ISO, megapixels, video feature, etc

I am a complete amateur so any thoughts/advice/recommendations in  as simple language as possible most welcome

Many thanks

R

Comments

• The key is getting more light into your camera so you want a lens with a wide aperture.  As far as I know (I'm a Canon user - but my son uses Nikon), the best in terms of this that you'll get without paying absolutely silly money in their 50mm fixed lens.  This opens up to f/1.8.  I've seen the results of using this and they are very good indeed.  That said there are two drawbacks that you'll need to be aware of.  1. Opening up the aperture this wide will give you a very narrow depth of focus i.e. not everything in the picture will look sharp - though this could be a bonus if you have ugly people in the background.   2.  The other disadvantage is that there is no zoom on this particular lens so it's more awkward finding the exact spot to take shots from.  That said, there is no finer way to improve, as its amazing how lazy you can get using a lens with a wide range like 18-200.
  • Many thanks, any views on a wide angle lens? (I'm assuming this isn't a stupid question) :)
  • Hi Razil,