Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

photography thread

Comments

• edited March 2013
    Any advice on zoom lenses as well, Blackheath (or anyone else!)? Does it matter as much as the nifty fifty on this type of camera?

You can tell I'm a complete beginner, didn't know anything about lenses etc!!
  • First thing is to consider why you want a zoom lens. In other words, what sort of subjects to you want to shoot. When you know that, you'll be in a position to start thinking about what sort of features the lens should have.
  • Gave it a miss in the end, think the mate of a mate is a bit dodgy so too much of a risk it'd break two mins after getting it home!!

So we're still on the lookout for a good camera at a good price (so likely second hand) for doing our own photos of Neil jnr when he/she arrives. Any advice more than welcome!!
  • As I said before the 350D is a good started camera. Nikon's are good as well but I dont know much about them.

As for zoom lenses, I hardly ever use them. My main 2 lens are the 85mm 1.4 and the 35mm 1.2 which are both prime lenses (that means they dont zoom at all, but are fixed)

If not the canon 350D then any number upwards from there. You can't really go wrong with a DSLR from Canon or Nikon.
  • On the Nikon front d40x is a great sturdy starter camera.
  • Ok, cheers guys, will be keeping an eye out on ebay. Have looked a lot of example pictures on the lens you pointed out before, blackheathaddick, ans the pictures are exactly what I think we're after, so cheers for that tip too!
  • I think Blackheath is right about Canon or Nikon, I believe you can add the other name brands to that like Pentax and Sony, though I can't speak from personal experience on those.