Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Aldi, Lidl and The big four.

Wife does the bulk of her shopping in Morrisons which I'm not overly keen on because I think the quality is nothing great and selection at best mediocre.

I've popped into Lidl a few times and quite liked the quality and prices on offer but I'm no expert. Just how much cheaper is it to shop at Lidl or Aldi over the other big four ? Worth the effort ?

I've got a bit more time on my hands these days so interested in doing some shopping and hopefully saving a few quid.

In case anyone wonders why I have more time these days it's because I retired at the end of October.

Comments

• Generally speaking, "doing some shopping" and "saving a few quid" are mutually exclusive but I know where you are coming from. I've often wondered whether it's worth shopping around. We use Sainsbury's and know where everything is. Familiarity wins. Must check out Aldi and Lidl at some point.
  • Wife does the bulk of her shopping in Morrisons which I'm not overly keen on because I think the quality is nothing great and selection at best mediocre.

I've popped into Lidl a few times and quite liked the quality and prices on offer but I'm no expert. Just how much cheaper is it to shop at Lidl or Aldi over the other big four ? Worth the effort ?

I've got a bit more time on my hands these days so interested in doing some shopping and hopefully saving a few quid.

In case anyone wonders why I have more time these days it's because I retired at the end of October.

Congratulations on being in a position to retire!

Enjoy it!
  • Thanks Len. So far so good.
  • Find the quality hit and miss, but once you know what's decent in there it's worth doing a shop in there one week and one in your usual supermarket the next (as Lidl/Aldi don't do as much etc).