Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

The Takeover Thread - Duchatelet Finally Sells (Jan 2020)

Comments

• Options
    micks1950 said:

I would imagine any interested parties have a realistic value of what the Club is worth , £10M max and RD thinks £50M + so don't hold your breath

Like most people I have no 'inside' knowledge, but it seems we can be reasonably confident that Due Diligence is or has taken place by at least one potential buyer.

Surely - a bit like buying a house and going ahead with surveys and legal searches - Due Diligence would not be done unless there was at least a provisional offer put forward by the 'buyer' that was broadly acceptable to the 'seller' and the 'seller' was reasonably satisfied that the 'buyer' had access to the necessary funds?

So if things have now 'stalled' it surely won't be over the overall (broad) 'price' or 'value' (as that should have been provisionally agreed before Due Diligence was undertaken) and is therefore more likely to be about the 'structuring' of payment(s) (i.e. deferring part until certain promotion goals are achieved) - I would have thought?
    Interesting that you should compare to a house because often when a mortgage valuation comes back there is something that affects the value and the negotiating starts all over again.
  • Options

micks1950 said:

I would imagine any interested parties have a realistic value of what the Club is worth , £10M max and RD thinks £50M + so don't hold your breath

Like most people I have no 'inside' knowledge, but it seems we can be reasonably confident that Due Diligence is or has taken place by at least one potential buyer.