Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Wine thread

A freakishly warm spring day means getting out in the garden with a plate of cold meat and cheese and a bottle of chilled rosé. And then another one.
It occurred to me that
a) this is a perfect garden wine, a fine example of its type
b) there is a beer thread and a whisky thread, but I havent seen a wine thread

So I'm starting off with Montgravet rosé, £5.99 from Waitrose. Just about the cheapest they do, but it's hard to see how spending more would get you anything better. Truly excellent value for money, and highly recommended.

Comments

• Nice work, now that you mention it, I too am surprised this thread doesn't already exist.

I'm no wine expert by any means, but I've found recently I really appreciate a Rioja. Used to like white wines, but now I pretty much never drink them.
  • If it's about drinkable cheap wines then Co-Op and Tesco Rose wines at about £3.50 seem fine to me.
  • Just had my laithwaites delivery. Whether it's good value for money rains to be seen at about £8 per bottle but I've had some decent ones in the past
  • iainment said:

If it's about drinkable cheap wines then Co-Op and Tesco Rose wines at about £3.50 seem fine to me.

I honestly thought most wines are still non veggie/vegan.
  • Uh oh.......
  • Time to open a packet of these and sit back

• laithwaites do a Black Stump Durif Shiraz, Australian wine for a tenner which is good value.
  • edited April 2017
    Badger said:

laithwaites do a Black Stump Durif Shiraz, Australian wine for a tenner which is good value.

That's an excellent wine. Always have one in my case. Really good Argentinian one called Waxed Bat as well
  • iainment said:

If it's about drinkable cheap wines then Co-Op and Tesco Rose wines at about £3.50 seem fine to me.

Their wines that I drink are vegetarian.
  • Whine thread?

No, that's the "What must Labour do" or "Brexit" thread
  • Sponsored links: