Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

The good ol’ days

12346»

Comments

• Options
    I was an apprentice mechanic, earning £7.15p a week, (1973) 3 day week and all that crap. First car was a Ford Anglia 105E   896DUS paid £5, for it, Wash, Polish, Moody MOT sold it to an ex-girlfreind from Springfield Grove £30, Then sold her brother an 2000E Corsair with a cracked block for £50. Them was the good old days!
    Fcuk buying a car of you.
  • Options
    Ronnie knew about the crack in the block! Plastic Padding... and keep the water topped up . Without the block cracked car was £150 of anybody money. Plus he was a Spanner!!!
  • Options
    T_C_E said:
    Ah, the good old days when lads built “camps”  I built one when I was around 9/10 just up by the laundry at the Sam Bartram entrance when I ran away from home from the umpteenth time I went back there and stayed there it was my little safe place. 
    Sliding down the heights on the arse of your trousers, digging your heels in as you neared the bottom normally with a stash of cakes and biscuits from the unigate milk floats or a box of fruit from the greengrocers in the village which every Herbert knew locally you could gain access to from the adventure playground behind St Luke’s. Going to the chippy in the village asking for a bag of cracking and if you found a few chips in there it was a double bonus. 
    Picking mulberries from the tree alongside Charlton house, scrumping fruit trees in the gardens in the house opposite the Village hall. 
    Deliberately knocking on various mates doors knowing they would be eating and often getting invited in to join them, retrospectively thinking back I’m thinking a lot more people knew my circumstances then I was aware of as a child.