Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Jimmy Seed's Missing Cap (& other memorabilia)

I mentioned on Twitter recently that I had tracked down one of Jimmy's missing England caps to the National Football Museum, where it's not on display, but in storage.

I've written to them to ask if I could buy it back, and received this response:

My name is Alexander Jackson and I am a Collections Officer at the NFM. I will take your request to our next Collections Meeting for discussion with the team. This will be on Thursday and we will replay as soon as possible afterwards.

Today is Thursday, so I wait with bated breath!

The cap was for the 1923 match v. Belgium, England's very first match against a foreign team (i.e. Non 'home nation'.) I'd forgotten we didn't have that one until I did the recent talk to the Bromley Addicks.

Jimmy played five times for England. He also skippered a Tour to South Africa (no caps awarded), and played in a few 'trial' matches, for which he did receive a cap.

He was a generous chap, and gave away all but three of his medals, and some of his caps.
We still have his 1921 FA Cup winners medal (only the 11 who played in the final got the medal. No subs!)
We also have one of his his league winners medals (he earned two as captain of Sheffield Wednesday), and a 'long service' medal given to him by the Football League).

Also my mum told me an alarming tale. Apparently my dad, also a generous chap, was contacted out of the blue (in the 1980's I think) by a Dutton who my dad invited to the house. He turned out not to be a relative, but my dad nonetheless gave him an England cap.
I'm wondering if it wasn't this Belgium one. I've asked the museum where they obtained it, so I may find out later today.