Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Fare dodging hedge fund manager. Right or wrong to let him off?

Comments

• Options

Why wasn't he caught out by the ticket inspectors? Very rarely do you not see one on that line.

as I said before. I have been using that line for 3 years and hardly a journey goes by where there isn't an on board ticket check, sometimes two in one journey. I can only imagine he hid in a loo all his journey although I wouldn't like to spend an hour or so commute in such circumstances !!

• Options
    KHA - He was a "regulated person" responsible for huge sums of people's monies and therefore the FCA had to act and were quite right to. He had a duty of care to his clients and the fact that he was guilty of theft over a long and sustained period would suggest that he is untrustworthy and shouldn't be allowed to have that sort of responsibility.

Mr Fleming summed it up perfectly.
  • Options
    I wonder who will be able to get a job in their profession first, a convicted rapist, or a man who dodged some fares on a train.
  • Options
    we'll all suffer now because his huge salary wont be taxed
  • Options
    While I don't condone what the guy did, politically this was a easy hit for the FCA. If this person had been on a 'normal' salary, he probably wouldn't have been struck off, seeing that this wasn't a criminal matter
  • Options
    The main feature of it all seems to me to not be the actual amount, but the systematic and sustained nature of the offence.
  • Options

we'll all suffer now because his huge salary wont be taxed

was probably dodging that too

• Options
    Nearly 40 years ago a bloke I worked with passed all his exams to become a chartered accountant and was awaiting formal admission to the Institute.