Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Official CL weekend Lycra warriors thread (cycling)

Comments

• Options
    Me again :smile:

I’ve got the bike, now I need the gear.

I live in Forest Hill and my commute home is all uphill. I have a shite power to weight ratio (which I’m working on!) so I think it’s time I switched to clipless pedals. I’ve done some research and the Shimano Click’r system looks perfect for me - my dodgy ankle means I’ll need pedals I can get out of quickly and easily.

My silly question is: what shoes do I need?! I’ve looked and can’t figure out if I need specific shoes or just specific cleats - can any shoe take any cleat?

My budget for the shoes is around £35 and I’m a size 6. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  • Options
    I’m no expert but if your budget for shoes is that low then I hope you have only one leg :wink:
  • Options
    edited May 2018

@Leroy Ambrose I'm currently struggling along mate and wonder whether you have any words of wisdom.. You can see the TrainerRoad work I'm doing on the Strava feed, but it's not translating at all out on the road.. I find my legs aching very quickly, knees in particular, and then as soon as I hit a hill I've got nothing...lowest gear, legs spinning but getting nowhere (other than dropped).. Went out on Sat and set about 30 PRs on the way out through Kent as I tried to keep up with my mates but then headed home on my own and all back to slow norm... I'm following a training session on TR, but I just have no power....any advice?? (note: I'm not wanting to race, but I am in the Alps next weekend and then in the Pyrenees in June for a week, so I'm looking at sustained climbing and I just feel 'empty'... Bike is set up right as had it fitted, so know it's not that causing the aching legs/knees..). Cheers boss.

You might not be fuelling properly @“Charlton Charlie” ?