Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Adobe Dreamweaver.

Does anyone on here use it?

I'm new to web design and I've just put together the basis for my new sight, it's very simple.

It appears to work fine on my local server but now need to chose a web host and upload and I believe that's where the problems can start?

I'd just be interested in having a chat. If anyone's willing?

Comments

• Look up Vidahost. They're very good and offer excellent support.
  • Have you got new glasses? :-)
  • If you're new to web design, also check out Wordpress.

In regards to hosting, there are heaps of options.
    If it's too cheap, you might have your site hosted on a slow server.
  • Erm...I've used Dreamweaver at work for the last 12 years. Just been updated to a licenced version of Dreamweaver CC but its rubbish.

My IT department sorted out all the FTP permissions, mind you.
    Just looking at the hosting permissions gives me a headache.

Most hosting sites like Fasthosts will give you instructions as how to set up Dreamweaver for their servers.
  • If it's for creating your own website then try wix.com. I used it for my website and found it really easy to use and fast to create really professional looking sites. My previous experience was with MS Frontpage. If you are used to using Microsoft Office then it will be easy to pick up and there are lots of templates to get you started.
  • edited September 2017
    wickford said:

Have you got new glasses? :-)

Looks like I should get some, it was after midnight so that's my excuse!
  • cafc-west said:

If it's for creating your own website then try wix.com. I used it for my website and found it really easy to use and fast to create really professional looking sites. My previous experience was with MS Frontpage. If you are used to using Microsoft Office then it will be easy to pick up and there are lots of templates to get you started.