Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Driverless Cars

2»

Comments

• Taxi_Lad said:
    Anyone thinking this concept has anything to do with anything other than making money for the big players of the world needs to give their heads a wobble. 
    Safety, traffic management, getting Joe Bloggs home from the pub??  All bollox!  It’s about automaton of driving jobs, delivery drivers and transport drivers etc
    take out human personnel and that’s a lot extra coffers into the company accounts and a lot less hassle. No working hours limitations, no unions to have to deal with. 
    Yeah I’m a taxi driver so I have a vested interest but saying that I’m certain it won’t be a factor in my working lifetime. 
    If we keep finding ways of making people unemployed I’d love someone to explain just how  the economy etc is going to work in the future 
    It is a good point you make and our economy isn't set up for sharing the benefits of this more evenly. With AI we now have clerical jobs at threat too. We have also seen in supermarkets, DIY tills and the automation in banks and the closure of branches. These are all jobs. I don't think we can stop it so a new system needs to be developed to ensure people don't get spit out by it.

I tried to resist the latter two. I would insist on paying cheques in (for my business) with a person. When told I can do it with the machine, I would reply that I am trying to save your jobs. Once I got the reply, that's ok, I'm retiring next month. Same with supermarkets, I tried to avoid the self service tills but they stop giving you options. They are actually happy now for big queues in the manned check outs which forces you to use the automated ones.