Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Ancestry DNA genealogy

Has anyone gone for it ?

Comments

• Solidgone said:
    Has anyone gone for it ?
    I’ve been researching my family history on and off for 12 years or so. I’ve had a dna test and get updated results periodically. It’s been interesting and helpful and I’ve discovered reasonably close members of my family as a consequence of dna matches. 
  • Yes, did mine through Living DNA. Interesting results, mainly that I’m part Slovenian.
  • Yes, did mine through Living DNA. Interesting results, mainly that I’m part Slovenian.
    I can see that 😉
  • edited August 2022
    Yeah, I did it about 4-5 years ago whilst looking for some cousins I’ve never met who were raised in USA. Thinking they might have also taken the test. I didn’t find via the dna 🧬 test, but did find them by some good old detective work.

The result of my test showed me I had a cousin I never knew about ( this turned out to be 8 cousins). With some investigation, we think that my grandfather had fathered a daughter in his teens, long before he met my grandmother. I left it there as he didn’t appear on my cousin’s dna test, which I expected.

Other members of my family ( son of a cousin) have done and he has a cousin that no one seems to know about it or ain’t saying anything. 

It could open a can of worms that once opened can’t be closed.

Originally, my results said I was 100% Irish, it now says 92% Irish & 8 % Scottish (Southern) / Northern Ireland as they improve their testing. This falls in line as my grandmother came from Antrim. 
  • Started doing it many moons ago - just my father's side. Hit lucky in finding out a distant cousin (unknown to me) had been doing the same thing and my history went from 1830'ish all the way back to the 14th century.

Got bored then!
  • My FiL never knew his dad and found 2 brothers and a load of new nephews / neices etc in Oklahoma