Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Working during covid-19

2»

Comments

• Options
    I'm a software developer and I normally work at home anyway. 

But ,interestingly, I have found it harder since everybody else started working from home!

I think one problem is that, without a "mother ship", it's more difficult to find out what I am actually supposed to be achieving. 

So, for instance, there may be something no quite right with a calculation but it is impossible to obtain consensus about what should actually happen. I feel everybody is sitting at home now in their isolated worlds and they don't really discuss it. I just get various different opinions and am left to decide what is best. Which isn't actually my job!
  • Options
    I'm a software developer and I normally work at home anyway. 

But ,interestingly, I have found it harder since everybody else started working from home!

I think one problem is that, without a "mother ship", it's more difficult to find out what I am actually supposed to be achieving. 

So, for instance, there may be something no quite right with a calculation but it is impossible to obtain consensus about what should actually happen. I feel everybody is sitting at home now in their isolated worlds and they don't really discuss it. I just get various different opinions and am left to decide what is best. Which isn't actually my job!

We've maintained the 'mother ship' throughout lockdown, for the very reasons you state.
  • Options
    McBobbin said:
    bobmunro said:
    Any london office workers heard anything about getting back to the old normal and going back in?

I think my office will be getting us back in within the next week or 2 :unamused:
    How has your remote working been? We not going back in until September. No reason for the added risk and we have proven we can WFH fine