Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

School Sports days soon to be a thing of the past?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-south-east-wales-44466618

Same thing happened at my boys school last week.

Comments

• The picture was enough to stop me reading any further. Grown ups high fiving each other is cringe worthy.
  • I don't understand why parents are there.
  • How sad do you have to be... deary me.
  • edited June 2018
    It is good that parents are there as long as they are supportive of all the kids. As a youth football coach I have seen some very poor behaviour from parents. But actually the worst was in a Greek league where a rabid parent was urging 10 year olds to break a player's legs! Fortunately, our league is very hot, in terms of clamping down on this. We have actually avoided signing a good player because of his dad!

The general rule for spectating parents should be, if you can't say something positive, don't say it at all.
  • Fake news.
  • Doesn't surprise me. We had a parents race last year and are having it again this year. The example they set to their kids was awful.

Was never a fan of sports day!
  • Can't believe in this day and age they haven't got VAR.
  • bellz2002 said:

Doesn't surprise me. We had a parents race last year and are having it again this year. The example they set to their kids was awful.

Only cos you didn't win! :wink:
  • They obviously didn't win by a large enough margin. Usually the Parents of wannabe Athletes reliving their childhood. Shame on them.
  • Sponsored links:

• LenGlover said:

bellz2002 said:

Doesn't surprise me. We had a parents race last year and are having it again this year. The example they set to their kids was awful.

Only cos you didn't win! :wink:
    I play the part of the class teacher sitting at the sides with my head in my hands :lol:
  • Had some experience reffing junior teams, and you know what I am going to say - nightmare parents.