Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Latimer Road fire

Comments

• Options
    Recently found it very hard to get a mortgage approved for an ex local authority flat in Charlton due to the way it was built, and I didn't particularly understand why it was such a risk. I can imagine now this sort of incident will open a lot of questions around similar high rises built in the same way/from the same period.
  • Options

Im a central london firefighter and have attended many high rise fires and they are our worst nightmare with fire spread etc. There was something majorly wrong with that building for the fire to spread that quickly. There really wouldnt be much that could be done for anyone trapped higher up,our biggest ladders reach 9 floors. Logistically it takes time to get the resources on scene and equipment up the building and the manpower required. We work in crews of 2 when entering fires so you can imagine with a fire of that size the amount of firefighters and equipment needed. My thoughts are with those affected and with my collegues involved. RIP to those poor souls.

As an ex-firefighter based in Kent I echo the above, luckily I never had to attend a real high rise flat shout, although the training for the same was arduous enough and very time consuming (laying guidelines etc). RIP to all those who have lost their lives.
    Davo55 said:

Truly awful

Re helicopters, I would imagine that the downdraft of air they would push into the fire could make it even worse? Don't know.

RIP and thoughts with all those affected.

Our emergency services yet again showing themselves to be incredibly brave in their service of our society.

Yes this would happen and it would be way to hot to get close, Piers Morgan actually suggested this morning that maybe we could lower the SAS from helicopter to help rescue anyone trapped.........
  • Options
    edited June 2017