Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Goalkeepers

Many of us fans have been shouting about which position we need new players in. I've not had much to say on the matter. I now believe we need more than anything, a new keeper.
Pope is a likeable young lad and not an awful keeper, but we can't afford his repeated blunders.
Henderson is a good keeper, however his injury problems which cause him to miss about a third of the season, every season. Means we cannot rely on him.
I would like to see an experienced keeper come in. Possibly a No2 from a Premiership side. I confess I don't know who....
The decision to let Dmitrovic go out on loan seems strange and I have no knowledge as to how good Mitov is, but suspect he isn't actually ready yet.

Comments

• Everyone goes on about Pope's mistakes, (which hopefully, as he gets more experienced, will stop), but have you seen the blunders by other more experienced goalies over the weekend, and last week, (ask Wenger, he has got a world class goalkeeper). If he has a problem with low shots at the moment, why are our defenders not getting in there first before the forwards, to cover for him. All players make mistakes, look at some of the shots by "world class strikers" that are wide of the mark, but if a goalkeeper makes one, it normally leads to a goal. Obviously Henderson is better, mainly because of his experience and he controls his box, (Pope does not do this yet), but given time, I personally think, providing supporters do not get on his back, that he will become a very good goalkeeper, just give him time, and hope when Henderson comes back, he can stay fit for longer than usual
  • ross1 said: