Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Any Ecologists in the house?

I know this is a big long shot, but worth a try. I am looking for a way to get an entry level job as an ecologist. My searches so far seem to suggest that you need a protected species licence to aid in the job application - however it seems like you need to be employed as an ecologist in order to get one of these licences. I do love the closed system that is the employment market...

If there are any people that work in the field of ecology/conservation/environmental science that read this forum and could offer me some advice in getting entry level jobs in this field it would be most appreciated. I have two relevant degrees (Zoology and MSc Animal behaviour), I have a lot of field experience, as well as experience in conservation education. I have been volunteering for about 6 years in the sector, so any help, as said before, would be hugely appreciated.

*sits back and hopes :)

Comments

• Options
    Good luck moutuakilla, can't offer advice or help but great choice of career.
  • Options
    edited April 2014
    Check the FaberMaunsell website .. a multi-disciplinary engineering group involved in ecology and associated businesses with offices all over the world (FM is part of a US based conglomerate), including down town Beckenham
  • Options
    also WWF .. NOT the phoney/fake wrestling outfit ... ((:>)
  • Options
    edited April 2014
    I work in Environmental Consultancy, specifically contaminated land, for a company called SLR Consulting.

I got this gig nearly 10 years ago straight out of Uni by visiting this website:

https://www.endsdirectory.com/