Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Bit of career advice...

Afternoon all,

I may be asking in the wrong place but if anyone can help a fellow CAFC supporter out it would be greatly appreciated.

Basically I graduated last year with a degree in Accounting with Finance. Since then I have been in 2 accounts/finance related jobs and have hated both of them. I'm now out of work and I am thinking that I should look at different options. I'm quite a sociable person and think I would be suited to a more client facing role. My Dad is in sales and I think I would suit that as well. Does anyone have any contacts or advice that would they be willing to share, to help me out? Like I said, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• Degree in accounts and customer facing sales role, have you tried MacDonalds pal?
  • Maybe in advertising / media for a media owner or agency? Like a business development / strategy role maybe.
  • Mark, I am assuming you are young enough to make a decision to change career direction as easy as possible?

It gets harder to change direction the older you get. IF you can do something you like to do AND earn a comfortable living at it, that's the life mate. Take stock and then go for it. I speak as someone who did a job he hated for 30 years out of what now seems was a misguided obligation to personal and professional standing, the mortgage company, the bank and blah de blah de blah.

Good luck. Another bit of advice would be not to ask advice on here... ;0)

• Have a read through this, there's some pretty interesting jobs out there that you never even knew existed: http://features.thesundaytimes.co.uk/public/best100companies/live/template
  • Well, how about the Financial Conduct Authority?
    You'd be able to combine your accountancy/finance skills with dealing with all the regulated firms rather than merely slaving over a hot spreadsheet!
    fcacareers.org.uk/