Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Playing The Guitar

Comments

• Options
    PopIcon said:
    I've been playing the guitar for 25 years and am probably the best song writer on Charlton Life. The best piece of advice I can give to aspiring musicians is, don't sit on budget gear for years. I did, when I upgraded, I grew exponentially in talent.
    Not sure I agree, with guitars it's generally about how they are set up than perceived quality (from a playability perspective). One of my best ever guitars to play was a £200 Yamaha acoustic, set up by a guitar tech in Denmark street (the set up was almost as much as the guitar was worth!), similarly my old Epiphany Dot which played better than a £5k Gibson 335 custom shop.

Sure, the sound of the Yamaha wasn't as good as say my J45 or even a Taylor I had, but playability was better, same with the DOT, despite all upgraded electronics the Gibson still sounded better but I much preferred the dot every time as it just fitted me perfectly.

Whatever guitar you have, get it properly set up by someone who knows what they are doing.
  • Options
    PopIcon said:
    I've been playing the guitar for 25 years and am probably the best song writer on Charlton Life. The best piece of advice I can give to aspiring musicians is, don't sit on budget gear for years. I did, when I upgraded, I grew exponentially in talent.

Ha I've just got your username...have read the "I" as an "L" for years and couldn't fathom it.

Welcome Mika  :-) 
  • Options
    Rob7Lee said:
    PopIcon said:
    Not sure I agree, with guitars it's generally about how they are set up than perceived quality (from a playability perspective). One of my best ever guitars to play was a £200 Yamaha acoustic, set up by a guitar tech in Denmark street (the set up was almost as much as the guitar was worth!), similarly my old Epiphany Dot which played better than a £5k Gibson 335 custom shop.