Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

E-books/ Kindle

Just wondering how many people on here are into reading books on electronic devices? There are now "Kindle millionaires" in the States, from self-publishing 99 cent e-books. Must admit I still prefer an actual printed book myself...

Comments

• Options
    I own a Kindle, and it is awesome. I would not consider myself a bookworm, but it has certainly made me read more and has changed the way I use my smartphone (I play far less games on my commute to work!).

For most novels it is great to be able to get Amazon prices without having to wait for the book to turn up in the post. This coupled with storage space no longer being an issue is the win factor for me.

The only thing that is slightly annoying is that some publishers charge more for the Kindle version than the paperback version.

As a software developer by trade, I would still buy the physical copy of a technical book as it's hard to read code/system diagrams on a book reader.

The days of the physical media are coming to an end, but that's another argument.
  • Options
    I have a kindle, an unexpected birthday present from my wife who was upset at the amount of books I buy and then clog up the house with. I love my kindle but when ill I wished I had a book to read, why I have no idea
  • Options
    Early days for me having just bought one on Sunday but so far I give it the thumbs up. Especially the easy access to the dictionary.
  • Options
    Also I'm receiving e-copies of books free!
  • Options