Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Camberwell fire

edited July 2009 in Not Sports Related
Terrible incident, lessons should be learned. Councils should go back to having proper caretakers who knew the building & local residents rather than CCTV & Helplines?

Comments

• Options
    Would you want to be a caretaker with all the gangs hanging around??
  • Options
    I'm a firefighter and was at the incident,one of the worst ive been to in the 17 years ive been in the job. All of us that were there worked so hard to get everyone out but it was impossible to reach some in time,gutted. Brings it home when babies and children die,not nice. RIP.
  • Options
    Don't envy you rve you do a great job and I thank you for that.

You can't blame yourselves though - that fire was awful.

RIP
  • Options
    [cite]Posted By: Redvalleyeast[/cite]I'm a firefighter and was at the incident,one of the worst ive been to in the 17 years ive been in the job. All of us that were there worked so hard to get everyone out but it was impossible to reach some in time,gutted. Brings it home when babies and children die,not nice. RIP.
    Fires in flats must be a firefighter's nightmare what with all those corriedors, balconies, lift shafts and stairwells scattered all over the place, all potential areas for providing oxygen to help keep the fire going...

Don't know if they do or not but I think these type of premises ought to have regular compulsory fire drills and evacuations so people know what to do in such a crisis...
  • Options
    I am led to believe that the first 3 people who were rescued were by Ambulance crews. It must have been a real nightmare. The LAS sent 16 Ambulances (and 8 officers) when the service is struggling to cope with typical Friday evening calls.
    I take my hat off to everybody involved, well done for a good job, well done.
  • Options