Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

grub from the past

I remember as a kid the ice cream van that came round did "cider lollys" they were great. Dont expect they could sell those now, and they werent made of "Irish" cider !

When i was an apprentice if the engineers worked and missed their lunch break we got sent up to an open fronted shop in Surrey Docks and had to buy X amount of savolys and pease pudding. Was in grease proof sheets and red hot. naffing loverly though.

When we did a "ghoster" and worked through the night they used to make sure a lady from the canteen came in with bacons rolls. It was probably the fact that you were double nackered but those bacon roles seemed to be the best in the known World.

If you were skint you could go to the canteen they would do you the biggest door step chip butty you have ever seen. strange how they dont seem to taste the same when you do em yourself?

Comments

• Options
    [cite]Posted By: Goonerhater[/cite]I remember as a kid the ice cream van that came round did "cider lollys" they were great.

Procured from an ice cream van for 30 pence last Saturday:
  • Options
    Now thats dedication to a topic, nice one sco

Bexleyheath/barnehurst area if I'm not mistaken???
  • Options
    sidcup innit? Hollies Clocktower in the back ground?
  • Options
    What clocktower, I cant see it, just a big cider lolly
  • Options
    edited May 2008
    It is hard to see past it! it looks rank. I vote for Popeyes. 99 with an ice lolly stuck in the top, cost a pound from the ice cream van at the bottom of Sidcup market. oh those were the days.

I would hazard a guess at the above pic and say it is Marlborough Park Avenue.
  • Options
    Marlborough Park Avenue, Sidcup?
  • Options
    reckon so. i used to live there.
  • Options
    I reckon Suzi has called the road right. Or just off it.