Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Death by kettle?

Was discussing the drummer who died changing a lighbulb whilst stood in the bath this evening - can't remember who it was. Anyway,my missus compared it to when she was a kid, her mum stopped her putting her hand in the water in an electrical kettle on the basis that she would electrocute herself. I said it was probably just to stop her scolding her hand and that she couldnt electrocute herself via a kettle. I'm sure I'm right but I don't really know why? Any physicists/sparkies out there to back me up?

Comments

• An electric kettle still uses a heating element to heat the water (not an electric charge), so one won't electrocute themselves by putting a hand in. But I'm no electrician, so don't take my advice.
  • It's ok - I'm not going to test the theory!
  • No mate, unless something goes pretty seriously wrong you can't elecrocute yourself by putting your hand in the kettle.

You would deserve to be severly hurt though wanting to do something like that. The water gets pretty hot in them there kettles so I've heard
  • edited March 2008
    Leslie (Les) Harvey (1945, Glasgow, Scotland - May 3, 1972, Swansea, Wales) (brother of Alex Harvey) was a guitarist in several Scottish bands of the late 1960s and early 1970s, most notably Stone the Crows- previously known as 'Power'. It was while on stage with Stone the Crows at Swansea Top Rank in 1972 that he was killed, electrocuted by touching an unearthed microphone with wet hands.

For a more amusing rock related accident check this poor fool out

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3SrAVvDUrw
  • [cite]Posted By: LoOkOuT[/cite]An electric kettle still uses a heating element to heat the water (not an electric charge), so one won't electrocute themselves by putting a hand in. But I'm no electrician, so don't take my advice.

Ummm looky, I got my sister to test this out, you was wrong.