Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Very disturbing music headline

2»

Comments

• Options
    I was never a Genesis fan, but he was an ace drummer I do have to say.
  • Options
    I am obviously in the minority on this one. I like the post Gabriel Genesis (loved the original stuff) and Phil's early solo work was ok. Genesis were the first band I saw live I think in 86.
  • Options

Against All Odds is one of my guilty pleasures musically.

Take a look at yourself
  • Options
    PaddyP17 said:

I'd like to be as shit, talentless and poor as him.

Talentless? Hmm.

As a jazz/funk musician, I'm gonna have to disagree. His drumming is pretty much exactly what everyone wants - highly nuanced and developed sense of rhythm; great "groove"; responsive to other musicians; and some very very solid chops.

Not my choice - I much prefer Tony Williams; Buddy Rich; and Sput Searight (for a more modern flavour) - but a quality drummer.

His songwriting is also pretty on point - Sussudio is a solid tune with clear knowledge of harmony and theory, even though I don't think he was the guy behind the horn arrangements etc in the big band version (which, btw, is far superior to the pop version imo).

If he can't drum nowadays, though, then that's a bit gutting.
    I was being sarcastic.
  • Options

PaddyP17 said:

I'd like to be as shit, talentless and poor as him.

Talentless? Hmm.

As a jazz/funk musician, I'm gonna have to disagree. His drumming is pretty much exactly what everyone wants - highly nuanced and developed sense of rhythm; great "groove"; responsive to other musicians; and some very very solid chops.

Not my choice - I much prefer Tony Williams; Buddy Rich; and Sput Searight (for a more modern flavour) - but a quality drummer.