Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Sacked in the morning ??? (Workplace Covid issues)

edited January 2021 in Not Sports Related
Hiya. Looking for some advice pls. I work for a small social housing provider who i feel are putting me, my family and residents at added risk of covid. As my usernams says im a gas engineer. Part of my daily tasks is to carry out yearly gas checks in residents homes. My issue is they started to send me to 10 plus properties today to carry out checks that dont expire until end of april. I called my boss this pm to say what happens if i say no, i wont attend. im happy to complete emergancy work and certs that are close to expire, his responce is i agree fully, but you will be sacked as i will be refusing to comply with company policy. I feel they taking the p if im totally honest.  Is a gas check that has 4 months left to run really essential work. my argument is In april the infection rate could be alot lower than now = less risk.  If shit hits fan tomorrow morning do you guys feel i have a case for unfair dismissal even if i walk away for safety. I know many others are at greater risk than me but i feel very strong im correct.
Im going to call the HSE tomorrow morning aswel for advice. Thanks and sorry for the boreing read .

Comments

• edited January 2021
    This is a question and not a criticism - but if you're being careful, taking full precautions and wearing the correct PPE then what is the issue?
  • Gasman said: