Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Why are so many people not wearing face masks?

Genuine question. 

I travel regularly on trains and tube for work and am astonished at the high numbers who are not wearing a face mask at all or who wear it on their chin or forehead - in which case, why wear one there at all? I am guessing just in case there is the small chance they get challenged and then they will put it on to save being fined?

I appreciate some people have hidden illnesses and disabilities. If most of those not wearing them have a hidden reason, there is an astonishing number with these conditions. I appreciate it may not be possible for everyone, but I know people with some of these conditions who are wearing a mask; partially because they are actually more vulnerable because of said condition.

Of course I am not an expert but like the majority, I am not qualified to be able to make a decision about whether it is better to wear one or not. But it seems such a little sacrifice and discomfort, if it makes  a difference.

I don't want to offend anyone with this comment, which is only based on my experience, but the majority of those I have seen are from groups disproportionately affected by the virus.

Comments

• Maybe its a London thing? Where I live (town in the south west) I'd say its pretty much 100% compliance. 

• If someone tries to get on a bus while not wearing a fa w covering, the bus driver should be able to press a button to charge the person £10-20 more than their standard journey.

if their oyster or card does not have enough money, they have to get off. 

Doesn’t stop them taking it off or moving it to their neck/ forehead/ just covering their mouth whilst in the bus but would help.