Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

American Addicks/Addicks in the US.

Comments

• Would love to live and work in the US one day.

What do you do?
  • limeygent said:

Would love to live and work in the US one day.

What do you do?
    Banking compliance. My company has offices out there just need to convince the better half to give it a go as she has no desire to leave England which is a minor stumbling block to my plan :-)
  • limeygent said:

What do you do?
    Banking compliance. My company has offices out there just need to convince the better half to give it a go as she has no desire to leave England which is a minor stumbling block to my plan :-)
    I recruited a couple from Kent a few years back, he loved it but she never settled. They went back to England and then split up.
  • limeygent said:

Was it a case of transferring with current employers or anyone just apply direct/ get recruited?

I’m a teacher and there are British schools all over the world, so it’s quite a good route in.
    Not so sure about everyone else.
    Do you know where in the DC area you'll be working?
    It’s the British International School, Wisconsin Avenue. Georgetown area, I think.
  • limeygent said:

What do you do?
    One of the major issues I’ve seen is that while your company may move you both out here, only you will be able to work. So your wife end up stuck with no friends and family and nothing to do. I’ve seen a few people head back to Europe because of that.
  • Rob said:

Rob said:

The East Coast sounds nice with the culture and all that. But, you can't beat the weather in California. I think I'll stay where I am :smile: . Yesterday I was out and about with the top down on my car. Not doing that in DC.

Wildfires, mud slides, droughts, earthquakes. But at least it’s warm.