Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Gardening Advice

Oh this is going to be a fun thread... Not just because of the usual comments I'll no doubt get but also because I'm quite new when it comes to the subject.

Basically my Garden is weed infested and has just very small patches of grass, my plan over the coming weeks was to spray the whole area with Roundup meaning that the weeds will die yet also ensuring that the grass dies too... Once this has been done I was then going to lay grass seed and re-grow the lawn from scratch.

As I say I'm quite new to gardening, don't really have the money for countless tools so was wondering if anyone can offer advice with the best way / the best order of getting everything done?

Comments

• My wife is a keen gardener. Best advice she had was keep the bush well trimmed.
  • Seriously don't use seed if your doing an entire lawn, turf is the way to go. See is a pain the the arse - and in my experience on any good for patches.

If you're really lazy and it's a small lawn anyway - what about AstroTurf - not a fan myself but one of my neighbours has it and it looks pretty good - and saves getting the flymo out.
  • If you use round up you will have to leave the ground for at least 6-8 weeks. Then rake off all the dead stuff. Then get at least 100mm of good quality top soil. The really hard part is finding a really good quality seed. Ive just used a Tall Fescue variety which in this unpredictable environment has done really well. The other option is to hire a rotavator then filter out the crap, roll it and top soil it.
  • Yeah it is a small lawn... about 25 sqm

I originally thought of AstroTurf as see there are a lot of artificial ones on the market but changed my mind as want to put the effort out there and almost take up the hobby (I'm too boring at the moment as you mentioned the other day lol!)

Why is seed a pain in the arse?