Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Guitar Experts on here?

Is there anyone on here who is an expert in guitars? I've been playing for many, many years, but need some advice on buying a guitar. I've found what I think is an absolute bargain, but am concerned the price is too good to be true.

Anyone versed on spotting fakes?

Comments

• @Greenie might be the one to talk to.
  • PopIcon said:
    Is there anyone on here who is an expert in guitars? I've been playing for many, many years, but need some advice on buying a guitar. I've found what I think is an absolute bargain, but am concerned the price is too good to be true.

Where? What?
  • edited September 2019
    There is a poster on here who mends top end guitars if i remember rightly.  To the stars. Cant remember their name though unfortunately. 
  • PopIcon said:

Where? What?
    Gibson Les Paul Special, USA made £620. I've looked for the tell tale forgery signs and nothing is jumping out. 
  • PopIcon said:
    PopIcon said:

Where? What?
    Gibson Les Paul Special, USA made £620. I've looked for the tell tale forgery signs and nothing is jumping out. 
    All the genuine items have serial numbers which you can check online
    New or used?
    tbh £620 is the sort of price you can find a choice of USA LP's - depending on spec, originality and condition
    If you like it, it plays well and sounds good, where's the risk?
  • PopIcon said:
    PopIcon said:

Where? What?
    All the genuine items have serial numbers which you can check online
    New or used?
    tbh £620 is the sort of price you can find a choice of USA LP's - depending on spec, originality and condition
    If you like it, it plays well and sounds good, where's the risk?

I've checked the serial number and while it comes back as a genuine number, I know that these can be copied. Plus the number just gives the date and factory location, not the make and model.