Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Amateur football - got any stories?

I’m considering working on a project about amateur football.

I intend to meet and interview people around the country and get into the heart of what’s a huge, but largely ignored past time. There are books and the occasional Danny Baker or John Fashanu show, but given how many people - and colourful characters - are involved, I feel it’s an untapped mine of entertainment.

I’m still developing the idea, and figured as part of my research I’d ask you lot for stories and perhaps the odd bit of advice. Places worth visiting or people worth meeting.

Or if you like, just talk about your own ‘careers’ in the underbelly of football!

*Edited cos I shouldn’t tell people so much.

Comments

• I'm a coach at U13 level in West Yorkshire. Happy to have a chat.
  • Sounds a bloody great idea...

Might contact Amazon Prime see if they want to fund it for me ;)
  • Sounds a bloody great idea...

I did debate not mentioning the plan... think I’ll tone down the detail...
  • JiMMy 85 said:

Sounds a bloody great idea...

I did debate not mentioning the plan... think I’ll tone down the detail...
    Wouldnt blame you for keeping certain parts quiet as there is always the genuine risk of someone stealing your idea (maybe see if you can make this Members Only)

Isnt something Id do as dont have a scooby where to begin - Standby first line and think its a great idea of yours, be interested to see if you follow it through
  • I'm a coach at U13 level in West Yorkshire. Happy to have a chat.

Excellent. I’ll DM you soon.
  • edited January 2019
    Try to find a team that plays at some rural places away, always quirky grounds and inbred opposition.
  • I co-manage an U18 team and I could write a book about this season.
  • Great idea, good luck with it