Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

The rise of the vegans.

Comments

• Not sure if this has already been discussed but how do vegans/veggies/meat-eaters feel about this?

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-45865403
  • Why wouldn't someone eat slaughter free meat? You can't lose.
  • "...grown in a lab from cells taken from a living animal". "This meat is not to be confused with the vegetarian plant-based burgers and other meat-substitute products which are gaining popularity in supermarkets. No, this is actual meat grown from animal cells"

Animal DNA. (What was / will be the fate of the animal(s) it came from?)
    The methods of production and the end product would be wholly unacceptable to me.
    I will stick to my plant-based diet. It has served me well for 20+ years and I wouldn't change it.

I’m with SHG.
    I’m no expert on DNA (so not sure if it’s possible) but are you actually saying you’d be against this if the production was possible from a method, harvesting moulted feathers from the bird in a natural environment and this resulted in a huge reduction in slaughter?
  • I certainly won’t be eating the results of a Petri dish lab experiment. Like Anna_Kissed I’ll be sticking with the vast array of vegetables, fruits, nuts, pulses and beans at my disposal.
  • I certainly won’t be eating the results of a Petri dish lab experiment. Like Anna_Kissed I’ll be sticking with the vast array of vegetables, fruits, nuts, pulses and beans at my disposal.

...most of which will have been cultivated and grown from lab experiments
  • edited October 2018

I certainly won’t be eating the results of a Petri dish lab experiment. Like Anna_Kissed I’ll be sticking with the vast array of vegetables, fruits, nuts, pulses and beans at my disposal.

Pretty certain apples, bananas, kidney beans, carrots, potatoes etc etc etc weren’t made in a laboratory. I could be wrong of course and I await being corrected.