Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

New Article: A Massive Well Done...

...to all those behind the scenes who have clearly worked so hard in the last week (and in preparation before) in bringing this to the fore. The story escalation and generation of so many headlines and column inches this week has been nothing short of incredible.

This doesn’t just happen. This isn’t the interest that third tier clubs have the ability to attract.

I’ve no experience in media framing / story building etc but I’m pretty sure we have seen a classic case of this in evidence this week.

Leaked emails, open letters, headline grabbing examples of the ridiculous, working contacts, providing briefing, being creative, driving the story, building momentum etc

Ignore the abuse and ridicule that sadly will always be generated from some Charlton fans.

What you have seen this week is why Charlton fans have been seen with respect, admiration and sometimes envy from the fanbases of every other protest club in recent years.

Football author Martin Calladine says “Charlton fans remain the absolute model of smart, focused campaigning” and he is 100% right.

This has all culminated in the EFL publishing a statement about the club. Extraordinary and unprecedented I think, seeking to engage with both club and supporters group.

FORCED INTO RESPONDING

They don’t want to, and they are certainly not doing so because of what’s happening at Charlton. Or because hundreds of Charlton fans and the Trust have wrote to them.

They are responding because every national has giving column inches to Charlton stories this week. That top national columnists like Martin Samual, Owen Wilson, Henry Winter have highlighted it and in the process slammed the EFL. National Sports radios have been dedicating shows to it. The Standard, who wouldn’t know their Charlton from Chorlton dedicated two days of back pages to it.