Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

More deaths of horses at Cheltenham Racecourse. Please sign a petition.

Comments

• Options
    Chizz said:

bobmunro said:

Chizz said:

bobmunro said:

Chizz said:

So an average of 181 deaths a year, then?

Apparently. Is that too many for you? Too few? About right?
    Too many and it’s a concern, and reducing.

If the OP had his way no horses, period, would be bred in captivity. Ignoring the fact they were domesticated thousands of years ago, he wants all human control to be stopped. So that’s the end of equine vets then. Let them roam free, re-introduce predators to prey on them so we can restore the natural order. No medical intervention whatsoever.

Yes stupid observations, but on this subject I have some knowledge. I love horse racing and I love horses, thoroughbreds or otherwise. Unlike you who doesn’t like horse racing and doen’t like horses - but that doesn’t stop you pontificating. The more people interested in working with the racing industry on this issue the better, which is why I signed the petition. Working with, not against - and on reflection I would withdraw my signature if I could as the agenda is pretty clear.

Maybe stick to the Brexit thread.
    I agree with you that there should be fewer horse deaths and that it's concerning. And, like you, I signed the petition. And also - I assume - like you, I wouldn't support a ban, if it could be shown that a ban isn't necessary to bring the number of deaths down significantly.

I also think that bringing in an independent body, authorised by Parliament, with an edict to do whatever is necessary to reduce deaths, would be a positive step.

However, thanks for pontificating on which threads you'd be happy for me to "stick to".

:wink:
    Never assume, Chizzy - I would not support a ban, period.