Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

home repairs, how much do you do yourself?

I'll give most things a try except serious electrical and any gas, hate bodges tho so if its beyond me I go elsewhere.

So I have a rangemaster oven with a cracked glass top, and the replacement top, but can find nothing on the internet about swapping it over.

What would you do?

Comments

• Nothing - I'm dreadful. Is there a course you can go on that teaches you the basics?
  • not sure it would be worth doing that :)
  • Get somebody in!

When we bought our first house I did most things as money was tight way back then. But as soon as I could afford to pay tradesmen I did - and it made my wife very happy as she never wanted to tell me how crap I really was at DIY!
  • I'd give rangemaster a call and ask them.
  • am in the trade all be it plumbing and heating and no longer on the tools ill tackle most things, as op said steer clear of gas as its actually illegal to tamper with and as with electrics can be fatal.
  • If I have the money I get an expert in. I work hard at my job to earn money so I can enjoy my leisure time. If finances don't allow I can do most things - not well - but I can do them... :smiley:
  • No idea if they've got one for this but a website called espares.co.uk (obviously they mainly sell spare parts) also has around 500 how to fix it yourself videos which I've found useful in the past.
  • I just changed a light switch that had blown, got a spark in last time it happened. Feeling rather clever atm...
  • None of it. I'm fucking terrible

Luckily we employ sparks, an awesome carpenter that can do anything with bits of wood and/or paintbrushes and plumbers so I get them to come and do it.

I simply can't be arsed because I know I will bodge it and my wife will give me earache
  • razil said:

I'll give most things a try except serious electrical and any gas, hate bodges tho so if its beyond me I go elsewhere.