Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Interning in England, any helpful advice?

Evening everyone. As my junior year of college fast approaches, I have begun to hunt for different options for internships as it is a requirement for me to do one before I graduate. As many of you know, I'd like to travel outside of the states for awhile and see what there is to offer elsewhere in the world. Britain right now is at the top of the list. My major is Recreation Management with an Emphasis in Tourism and since Tourism is Britain's 5th largest industry (Or so I read), I figure it might not be a bad place to look for an internship. I'm very familiar with looking for jobs or internships here in the states, but I'm not sure how different it would be in England. I still have some time before I actually do my internship but I like starting early. Can anyone give me some tips or things to know about finding an internship in England or if there are any good websites I should check out? Any help is much appreciated.

Comments

• If you're looking for an internship in a UK-based business in the travel industry, you could do a lot worse than spend a few minutes looking at this site

https://www.travelport.com/career-center-uk-internships
  • I did a year long student placement in finance/data analysis a couple years ago. When I was looking I used rate my placement a lot.

https://www.ratemyplacement.co.uk/search?show=jobs

The length of placement varies from a couple months to a year. There is loads of jobs on there. Pretty much all of them are paid. You can read what other people say about the place too.