Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Duolingo

Free website for learning a language. Anyone else on here use it? I just started learning Spanish and I'm looking for some friends to add for a bit of healthy competition/motivation. I use the same handle as on here.

Comments

• Superb - really enjoyed doing the Spanish one (completed it :)) and do the Italian one now. Will look for you and add you.
  • edited April 2017
    Cheers! How fluent do you felt you became for finishing the course? Your username suggests you have some Spanish links anyway, but would you be able to hold your own in a basic conversation in a holiday type situation?
  • I gave it a crack for Swedish about 2 years ago, I really enjoyed it. There were a few bizarre sentences but I was pretty impressed with it. Pretty addictive after a while.

The only drawback I had, and I'm not sure if it's still an issue, is that it required an active internet connection if you use the android app - a bit inconvenient for cramming a bit of practice in on the train/tube.
  • To be honest I was pretty much fluent already when I did the course but it was very good practice for vocabulary and grammar. I did the Italian one for a few months before I went there on holiday though and got from nothing to pretty basic conversation level just through Duolingo. It is very well structured and very addictive!
  • Free website for learning a language. Anyone else on here use it? I just started learning Spanish and I'm looking for some friends to add for a bit of healthy competition/motivation. I use the same handle as on here.

Is it any good? I need to start learning French
  • I downloaded the app.
    Learnt how to say red apples in Spanish and not used it since.
    Keep meaning to have a proper go.
    Would love to be able to speak another language