Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Change in career...

edited March 2012 in General Charlton
Wanted to hear everyone's stories..

Has anyone done it? I'm thinking about it but it's obviously a massive move

Comments

• Seth is facing a massive change later this year....any jobs out there?
  • What do you plan on doing? There may be one or two people working in that area who could offer some practical advice.
  • Did it 2 years ago. Took a 70% pay cut and never looked back. Best thing I ever did.
  • Wanted to hear everyone's stories..

Massive? Are you moving to Sheffield?
  • I was an electrician for over 10 years, then ran a newsagent in Grove Park for a couple of years and I now work in pest control in France. Running the newsagent was a big mistake, but love doing the pest control.
  • I have a bachelor degree in Business Management, spent a few years working in retail as a manager, place shut down (plus the face I destested the work) gone back to Uni to study computing with multimedia, not sure what area exactly I want to go into but probably web design. It made my decision easy to go back to Uni knowing that there is loads of I.T jobs availble in Ireland.
  • Left a very good job with London Underground a few years back. Went to college, 3 years at uni and now 8 weeks away from becoming a history teacher. Very hard road to take but a path I'm glad I took.
  • edited March 2012
    Did it 2 years ago. Took a 70% pay cut and never looked back. Best thing I ever did.
    Same here (though it was a lot more than 2 years ago) Just depends on your circumstanes. I've not met many people over the years who have found total satisfaction or fulfilment in their work.