Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Playing The Guitar

Anyone on here play the guitar.

Got an acoustic guitar for Xmas as I've always wanted to learn to play it.

So im a complete beginner learning the basics. I've got a book and DVD that I've been going through.

Any tips or advice would be great. Struggling at the moment with the frets. When I hold a string down part of my hand is touching other strings so theres a buzz as I play.

Ta

Comments

• Start with the basic chords, try to put some together when you get a hold of some so you can learn easily where the chords out so you don't always have to look. Play until your fingers bleed (last one is from Bryan Adams) but I've never bled from playing. Enjoy yourself and have fun, great to relax with.
  • Been playing for twenty years. Move your wrist so that the knuckle of your thumb is resting against the middle of the back of the guitar neck. Apply pressure to the neck and lift your fingers away from the fretboard. Most beginners grip the guitar neck wrong, holding it as if they would a baseball bat. You need to lay your hand flat against the strings to be able to fret properly. Unfortunately, this doesn't feel 'natural' to begin with, and seems awkward - get the hand position right and you'll find everything a lot easier.
  • edited December 2011
    Find a song or 2 you like with simple chords and tear the arse out of it.  Get in the habit of picking the guitar up and playing it a bit whenever you go near it. The fret-buzz and muffling will go with practice.
  • I tried to learn about 20 years ago got frustrated and gave up.....but i found my old guitar at the back of the garage still in its now very dusy cover so i'm going to give it another bash :)

• I started playing the guitar back in March....one of the best things i have ever done. 

Learn the basic chords...and then you will be able to discover some songs with them in....its a terrific feeling.