Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Smart meters - what's the point?

13»

Comments

• Options
    Like Martin CAFC I work in The industry as a meter reader. Iaitch it’s not compulsory to have a smart meter. Smart meters are like Marmite some people love them others hate them . Yes they have to be read and inspected . Regardless of what type of meter you have they have to be inspected every now and again . The meter position stays the same but it’s best  to  put the device that shows you how much energy you use close to the meters . One tip please have it plugged in as some people love to bury there smart meters and you can get the readings of the device that tells you how much energy your using 
  • Options
    Like Martin CAFC I work in The industry as a meter reader. Iaitch it’s not compulsory to have a smart meter. Smart meters are like Marmite some people love them others hate them . Yes they have to be read and inspected . Regardless of what type of meter you have they have to be inspected every now and again . The meter position stays the same but it’s best  to  put the device that shows you how much energy you use close to the meters . One tip please have it plugged in as some people love to bury there smart meters and you can get the readings of the device that tells you how much energy your using 
    Is marmite the right phrase because generally we are a country of moaners and will object to anything new whether its a good idea or not, looks at HS2 for example

Take the Olympics, before it happened people used to moan about how it was a waste of money and should be scrapped, it was a roaring success so alot of people are just objectional, it's a British trait
  • Options
    Saves the power companies the expense of employing loads of meter readers and we are paying for it. Nothing smart about it.

surely if they had to employ these people they would also pass that cost on?