Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Books vs. Kindle (other electronic readers are available)

2»

Comments

• I love my kindle, it's certainly not the same as reading a proper book, but The available selection of books out here is do poor and expensive it makes reading proper books a pain.

With my kindle I can read anything I want for free , it's a no-brainer for me. Afriend recently gave me his copy of Power Wars, after 3 days I gave up reading The hardback and downloaded it for my kindle.
  • edited September 2018
    I prefer books I think... I say that as I've never used a Kindle. I'm no scientist but I'd suggest that the smell of the paper on a book must also add to the experience in some way, as well as the physical turn of the page.
  • Kindle. Got the original 3G one back in 2010
    Love it.

Only pay for a few authors now, mainly read free books or get 10 thrillers for 99p etc

Opens up the door to so many new authors and cannot be beaten for reading with one hand holding on when standing up on the tube. Finish a book by an author you have never read before and boom, download another of their books in seconds.

Can preorder titles to be delivered when released. Can store the books in folders- I have mine listed by ratings so I can look back at the higher rated books and search for new material.
    Holidays are a godsend- one little device rather than 4 hefty books.

Don’t understand ‘the feeling of turning a page’ - what feeling? Have never thought ‘I wish i had to flip this page over rather than pushing this button’

If there isn’t something you’d dont understand on the page you can look it up.

In short, would never go back to buying physically books.
  • edited September 2018
    Apple taking purchases - That is shocking...

it's like buying a new car and 3 years down the line the manufacturer takes it back saying we no longer sell this model but here's a voucher for a free test drive.