Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

CV Template

Anybody got a link to a good CV template TIA.

Comments

• Options

Alan Pardew must have a fucking great one.

Old Dowie used to have a powerpoint CV.
  • Options
    Must be a few recruiters on here who can help you.
  • Options
    Daisy has one.. works for her
  • Options
    Feel free to ignore as I’m not a CV expert....I just employ people from time to time

The first rule of CVs is don’t listen to anything a recruitment agent or HR person tells you about what you should or shouldn’t put on a CV unless you are looking for a job as either a recruitment agent or in HR. Neither of those two know a single thing about the roles that they are recruiting for.

Second rule is forget the bollox about ‘not too many pages’ - if you’ve got the experience, put it all down in your CV

Forget the fancy typeface and other add ons

Forget the coloured paper

Use a spellcheck

Don’t use long sentences

Don’t write in the third person

Don’t make claims you can’t back up

Do have a LinkedIn page that mirrors your CVs claims - it’s the lazy mans way of doing an initial check on you - make sure it’s got a picture (not a holiday photo or you in your once in an. Lifetime appearance in a dinner jacket). These days I never bother interviewing anybody I can’t see a LinkedIn page for it that doesn’t have a photo on it.

I don’t do this but you might want to be aware that among other sneaky things theses days it’s possible to basically run a mouse etc over a building (handy if the person you are looking up says they are still employed and give you the name of the firm) and see who in that building is looking at a social media site. Best to nuke any social media access you have if you are applying to anywhere you think might want to check you out (or has a policy of not using social media at work).
  • Options