Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Cryptos

Comments

• cabbles said:

What happens when some of the larger investors start selling? I’m no expert and we had the very informative bitcoin thread recently but how does this sort of bubble burst. Will it be similar to the dot com one of the early 2000s??

In the olden days, you know, 15 years or so ago, it used to be known as "pump and dump" and was common practice in dodgy share dealing blended with various boiler room scams and the "marketing" of US OTC and Regulation D stocks. Reg D stocks were a particular favourite.

Of course, it's all illegal and the authorities have got much, much smarter at tracking down the perps.

It seems to me that the same (breed of) market manipulator has just moved on to something much less regulated and less easy to detect.

It's like everything really. A big red light should shine whenever the "professionals" start making stuff available to Joe Public who hasn't got a clue as to what is going on or why. I haven't a clue and therefore wouldn't touch with the proverbial barge pole.
  • cafcfan said:

cabbles said:

What happens when some of the larger investors start selling? I’m no expert and we had the very informative bitcoin thread recently but how does this sort of bubble burst. Will it be similar to the dot com one of the early 2000s??

In the olden days, you know, 15 years or so ago, it used to be known as "pump and dump" and was common practice in dodgy share dealing blended with various boiler room scams and the "marketing" of US OTC and Regulation D stocks. Reg D stocks were a particular favourite.

Of course, it's all illegal and the authorities have got much, much smarter at tracking down the perps.

It seems to me that the same (breed of) market manipulator has just moved on to something much less regulated and less easy to detect.