Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Welling v Charlton - Match Thread

123457»

Comments

• Options
    Lol found them sorry
  • Options

The mile walk along the main drag from station to ground takes you past a spectacular 1970s time-warped Greek taverna, with red tiled roof and rough adobe-style whitewashed walls. Photos in window show D-list tribute acts who entertain at weekends: bubble perms, padded shoulders, jacket sleeves rolled up high. Soup-in-a-basket and rubber chicken.

Attendance was markedly lower than in previous years; presumably some folk chose the evening game instead. We had plenty of possession in midfield, yet failed to thread the killer pass. I studied our patterns of play advancing on the right: Stewart made runs without being supplied, wrong options were taken by player in possession: sideways passes that put recipient under pressure. Our shooting was laughably wayward, as usual.

After the mass substitutions – seniors off and youngsters on – the play was brighter, brisker. Easy on the eye, yet nothing in the whole afternoon to stir the blood. Was quite impressed by Welling: sturdy in the tackle, fluent and tidy in their approach play, let down by weak finishing.

Comical at the end: traditional pitch 'invasion' – mums and dads and excited kids – but bloke on the tannoy got panicky and paranoid: “DO NOT ENTER THE FIELD OF PLAY! EVACUATE THE PITCH!” No-one took a blind bit of notice. “EVACUATE! EVACUATE!”