Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Evening Standard appoints new Editor (George Osborne!)

Comments

• Options
    I thought being an MP is a fiull time job, this guys itinerary must look like a railway timetable, it's a newspaper that people hide behind on the tube or train on the way home, then when they have finished reading it they throw it on the floor, or leave it on the seat.

I wonder if TFL charge these free newspaper companys to clean up the mess that is left behind.

How does this guy get to edit a newspaper.
  • Options
    Did he try and blow up parliament?
  • Options
    Badger said:

To be fair he is a journalist by trade. I'd far rather him edit a paper than be involved in government. Any chance that another journalist, Martin Bell, might be encouraged out of retirement?
  • Options
    edited March 2017

Leuth said:

He's a Tory. He'll do what he bloody well pleases

Cos no Labour MP has had a second job, ever.

Lazy working class scum.
    This is his third job, at least, and he's supposedly working four days a week there. It's wholly incompatible with being an MP and a huge conflict of interest.
    I'm not disputing any of that, my issue was more Leuth making it a party issue, when both sides are at it.
    I'm sure if you worked out the average "other" earnings of Labour MPs and Tory MPs there would be a massive imbalance in favour of the Tories, but I agree the issue here isn't that Osborne is a Tory, rather that he's an MP. I can't imagine he'll be allowed to do both for very long.
    Blair. Tony.
    Brown. Gordon - in 2014 MP with biggest outside income.

Why do you think there might be an imbalance?
  • Options

Leuth said:

Lazy working class scum.
    This is his third job, at least, and he's supposedly working four days a week there. It's wholly incompatible with being an MP and a huge conflict of interest.