Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.
Options

Animals

Comments

• Options

Thank you for the hyperlink, M.O.G.
    Rob: no forum as far as I'm aware. Being an 'anti' is less about chit chat and more about saving the life of a hunted animal.
    Okay, so I like foxes. But I'm not engaging in 'point scoring'.

Cor, only asked.
  • Options
    edited December 2012
  • Options
    Africa (New Attenborough series) deserves it's own thread but isn't it brilliant.

Giraffes are amazing things to watch.
  • Options
    Never seen a Giraffe fight until last week, but my eldest claims there has been one televised before?
  • Options

I'm a zoologist/Animal behaviourist. I did my master's project on climate change affecting natal dispersal in pied flycatchers and spent 4 months in north east thailand studying monkeys earlier this year. I've had the pleasure of working with some fantastic animals in the past including numerous species of bird, wolves and orang-utans, and I have been to some amazing places to do this. If you do want to go into this line of work you have to be extremely passionate about it, and be prepared to put most of your spare-time into it. I have been volunteering for about 5 years and have a lot of experience, but it is very very difficult to find a job in the area. I am going to most likely have to go on to do a phd - hopefully in the near future - and then return to the struggle for finding a job. For me it is completely worth it, as i absolutely love working with animals and my years of working for pizza express have taught me how important it is to try and find something you love. I highly recommend going into the field, but be prepared to work your socks off :)

I applied to study Marine Zoology at Aberystwyth (spelling?) but missed the grades and retook but ended up studying an accountancy / business type degree elsewhere.