Attention: Please take a moment to consider our terms and conditions before posting.

Playing The Guitar

Comments

• Been finger picking 'The Big Ship sails..' in memory of Big Dave Shipperley.
  • edited January 2017
    DA9 said:

Would people advise as a complete novice, to go and have a few lessons first, as wouldn't even know how to tune or string a guitar if needed, or try YouTube self teaching videos (if so, which ones?)

TIA

Get a few lessons first.
    If somebody local can point you to a teacher they can recommend - then it's a no-brainer.

You'll be shown how to do things the right way straightaway and shouldn't develop bad habits that could hinder your progress in years to come.
    But however good the teacher, it's you who needs to put in the practice routinely. No practice, no progress.

As already said, Youtube is a fantastic resource - but the quality of instruction can range from brilliant to meh.
    Great for seeing techniques and learning new songs though.

The fact that you already participate in jam sessions means you can get to know other guitarists.
    Don't be fazed by them. They'll no doubt be of all different levels, but many will be happy to help pass on tips and show you stuff - and they were all beginners once, remember.

Do it and Good Luck!

• My route from absolute beginner around 10 years ago was

- guitar lessons with a good local teacher - probably around 10 - just to get to know the basics
    - Marty Schwartz on youtube - i really like his style & followed all his courses
    - having local friends to play with

I now subscribe to a few year long subscriptions - currently jamplay.com